News Releases | American College of Emergency Physicians

Site Body

Main Content

ACEP Elects Members To Board of Directors
Oct 4, 2018

SAN DIEGO —  The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) today announced the election of four members to its Board of Directors during ACEP18 — Scientific Assembly, the organization’s annual meeting in San Diego, Calif., which is the largest gathering of emergency physicians in the country. Board members are elected to serve 3-year terms.

The Board of Directors is the organization’s policymaking body, responsible for ACEP’s management and control, consisting of 12 elected directors, plus the president, president-elect, immediate past-president and chairman. Board members are elected at the annual ACEP Council meeting and can serve up to two 3-year terms.


Christopher S. Kang, MD, FACEP, FAWM

Dr. Kang, of DuPont, Wash., is an emergency physician at Madigan Army Medical Center in Tacoma, Wash., and a staff physician for Olympia Emergency Physicians, LLC, at Providence St. Peter Hospital. He also serves on the faculty of the hospital’s emergency medicine residency program. Dr. Kang was first elected to the ACEP Board in 2015. Previously,  he served as president of ACEP’s Washington State Chapter. In addition, Dr. Kang served on ACEP’s Chapter Relations Committee and previously chaired the organization’s Disaster Preparedness and Response Committee. He earned his medical degree and completed his residency in emergency medicine at Northwestern University in Chicago.

Mark S. Rosenberg, DO, MBA, FACEP

Dr. Rosenberg, an emergency physician in Paterson, N.J., is chair of emergency medicine at St. Joseph’s Health in Patterson. He also serves as the hospital’s chief innovation officer and led the development of the nation’s first Alternative to Opioids Program (ALTO). Dr. Rosenberg was first elected to the ACEP Board in 2015. He also serves on the board of directors of the Emergency Medicine Foundation and on the national Pain Management Task Force of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. This pain management program helps patients with painful conditions without using opioids and helps patients with drug dependencies and addiction. Dr. Rosenberg earned his medical degree from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and completed his residency in emergency medicine at Metropolitan Hospital in Philadelphia.


L. Anthony Cirillo, MD, FACEP

Dr. Cirillo, an emergency physician from Saunderstown, R.I., is director of health policy and legislative advocacy for U.S. Acute Care Solutions and serves as the medical director of the Pequot Emergency Department in Groton, Conn. He has served as chair of ACEP’s Federal Government Affairs Committee, as well as the organization’s State Legislative and Regulatory Committee and Membership Committee. Dr. Cirillo is also a regular contributor to ACEP Now writing about ACEP’s federal advocacy efforts. He earned his medical degree at the University of Vermont, College of Medicine in Burlington and completed his residency in emergency medicine at UMASS Medical Center in Worchester, Mass.

John T. Finnell, MD, FACEP, FACMI

Dr. Finnell of Indianapolis, Ind., is the fellowship program director of clinical informatics and as a teaching faculty member at Indiana University. He serves as president of the American Medical Informatics Association Academic Forum. Dr. Finnell is also a senior case examiner reviewer for the American Board of Emergency Medicine. He earned his medical degree from the University of Vermont in Burlington and completed his residency in emergency medicine at the University of California, San Francisco-Fresno.

ACEP is the national medical specialty society representing emergency medicine. ACEP is committed to advancing emergency care through continuing education, research and public education. Headquartered in Dallas, Texas, ACEP has 53 chapters representing each state, as well as Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. A Government Services Chapter represents emergency physicians employed by military branches and other government agencies.

# # #

For further information: Contact: Mike Baldyga | 202-370-9288 | | | @EmergencyDocs