ACEP Elects New Officers To Board of Directors - Nov 1, 2017

Site Body

Main Content

ACEP Elects New Officers To Board of Directors
Nov 1, 2017

WASHINGTON, Nov. 1, 2017 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) today announced the election of new officers to its Board of Directors during ACEP17—Scientific Assembly in Washington, DC, the largest annual gathering of emergency physicians in the country, which ended this week. Board officers are elected to serve 1-year terms.

ACEP Logo. (PRNewsFoto/American College of Emergency Physicians) (PRNewsfoto/ACEP)

The Board of Directors is the organization's policymaking body, responsible for ACEP's management and control, consisting of 12 elected directors, plus the president, president-elect, immediate past-president and chairman. Board members are elected at the annual ACEP Council meeting and can serve up to two 3-year terms.

Chair of the Board – Debra G. Perina, MD, FACEP

Dr. Perina, of Charlottesville, Va., is professor and regional quality director and EMS fellowship director in the department of emergency medicine at the University of Virginia.  She is also director of the Division of Prehospital Care at UVA.  Dr. Perina was first elected to the ACEP Board in 2013 where she has worked with other organizations, including the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma, to help ACEP enter into a new era of cross-organizational cooperation.  Dr. Perina earned her medical degree at West Virginia University School of Medicine and completed her residency in emergency medicine at Richland Memorial Hospital/ University of South Carolina School of Medicine.

Vice President – Vidor E. Friedman, MD, FACEP

Dr. Friedman, of Maitland, Fla., is an emergency physician and managing partner for Florida Emergency Physicians in Maitland. He has served on ACEP's Board of Directors since 2012 and previously served as secretary treasurer chair of ACEP's Governmental Affairs Committee.  In addition, he was one of the architects of the Emergency Medicine Action Fund.  At the state level, he served as president and governmental affairs chairman of the Florida College of Emergency Physicians.  Dr. Friedman received his medical degree from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine and completed his residency in emergency medicine at Michigan State University.

Secretary-Treasurer – Stephen H. Anderson, MD, FACEP

Dr. Anderson, of Seattle, Wash., is an emergency physician at MultiCare Auburn Medical Center in Auburn, Wash. He also serves as director of the emergency medicine student and resident rotations program at Madigan Army Medical Center, director of stroke services at Still University and chair of South King County MultiCare Health Foundation.  Dr. Anderson was first elected to the Board in 2014.  As Washington State's Chapter president, Dr. Anderson was the media point person for the state's recent Medicaid crisis – successfully fighting to protect the prudent layperson standard.  Dr. Anderson earned his medical degree at the University of Michigan and completed his residency in emergency medicine at the University of Michigan Emergency Department.

ACEP is the national medical specialty society representing emergency medicine. ACEP is committed to advancing emergency care through continuing education, research and public education. Headquartered in Dallas, Texas, ACEP has 53 chapters representing each state, as well as Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. A Government Services Chapter represents emergency physicians employed by military branches and other government agencies. 


SOURCE American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)

For further information: Laura Gore, 202-370-9290,,