ACEP Elects Members to Board of Directors - Oct 16, 2016

Site Body

Main Content

ACEP Elects Members to Board of Directors
Oct 16, 2016

LAS VEGAS, Oct. 16, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) today announced the election of four members to its Board of Directors during ACEP16-Scientific Assembly, the organization's annual meeting in Las Vegas, which is the largest gathering of emergency physicians in the country. Board members are elected to serve 3-year terms.

The Board of Directors is the organization's policymaking body, responsible for ACEP's management and control, consisting of 12 elected directors, plus the president, president-elect, immediate past-president and chairman. Board members are elected at the annual ACEP Council meeting and can serve up to two 3-year terms.


James T. Augustine, MD, FACEP

Dr. Augustine of Dayton, Ohio, is chair of the National Governance Board, US Acute Care Solutions in Canton.  He is also a clinical professor in the department of emergency medicine at Wright State University.  He serves as a fire EMS medical director in the Atlanta area.  Dr. Augustine has been in practice for 30 years and has served in numerous emergency medicine setting from isolated critical-access hospitals to academic urban Level 1 trauma centers.  He was first elected to the ACEP Board in 2013, where he is helping develop ACEP's Qualified Clinical Data Registry (CEDR).  Dr. Augustine earned his medical degree from Wright State University School of Medicine, where he also completed his residency in emergency medicine.

Debra G. Perina, MD, FACEP

Dr. Perina, of Charlottesville, Va., is professor and regional quality director and EMS fellowship director in the department of emergency medicine at the University of Virginia (UVA).  She is also director of the Division of Prehospital Care at UVA.  Dr. Perina was first elected to the ACEP Board in 2013 where she has worked with other organizations, including as the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma, to help ACEP enter into a new era of cross-organizational cooperation.  Dr. Perina earned her medical degree at West Virginia University School of Medicine and completed her residency in emergency medicine at Richland Memorial Hospital/ University of South Carolina School of Medicine.


Kevin M. Klauer, DO, EJD, FACEP

Dr. Klauer of Knoxville, Tenn., is chief medical officer for TeamHealth's emergency medicine division and medical director for the TeamHealth Medical Call Center, in Knoxville.  Dr. Klauer has been active in ACEP on the state and national level for years.  He served two terms as president of the Ohio Chapter of ACEP, and was elected Council Speaker for the national organization.  He is also medical editor-in-chief of ACEP Now, ACEP's monthly publication.  Dr. Klauer earned his medical degree at the University of Osteopathic Medicine and Health Science in Des Moines, Iowa and completed his residency in emergency medicine at Louisiana State University, Charity Hospital in New Orleans.  Dr. Klauer earned his law degree from Concord Law School. 

Gillian Schmitz, MD, FACEP

Dr. Schmitz of San Antonio, Tex., is associate professor and associate program director in the department of emergency medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.  She is also an emergency physician in the First Choice Emergency Room in San Antonio.  Dr. Schmitz has balanced her dedication to emergency medicine with her family's military commitment and service in a variety of locations and positions.  She serves as chair of ACEP's Academic Affairs Committee and was president of the Government Services Chapter.  She also served on the board of the Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA).  Dr. Schmitz earned her medical degree from Loyola Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago, and completed her residency in emergency medicine at the University of North Carolina. 

ACEP is the national medical specialty society representing emergency medicine. ACEP is committed to advancing emergency care through continuing education, research and public education. Headquartered in Dallas, Texas, ACEP has 53 chapters representing each state, as well as Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. A Government Services Chapter represents emergency physicians employed by military branches and other government agencies.


Logo -

SOURCE American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)

For further information: Elaine Salter, Media office in Las Vegas:,, Las Vegas convention site: 702-322-3791